The Makeup Standard

There’s nothing like opening up a new palette of eyeshadows or a tube of lipstick for the first time. Everything is new and shiny and usually something you haven’t had before and can’t wait to experiment with! I always try to shake it up with my makeup but somehow wind up falling right back into my old habits, I have my favorites and it’ll probably never change although I do add to the list from time to time when something new is to die for! I tend to go towards the more natural look that plays up my best features instead of covering everything up so that I don’t even see myself in the mirror anymore. I try to pick one thing to make a bit more dramatic than the rest either eyes or lips for me, but mostly eyes, yet still in a natural way! So below is a list of my go to favorites that I can’t live without!

My experimenting with new makeup playlist:

Worn Me Down by Rachel Yamagata

Crimson and Clover by Tommy James & The Shondells

You Wouldn’t Like Me by Tegan and Sara

Waiting by Taxi Doll

Finding Out True Love Is Blind by Louis XIV

Sonia Kashuk Eye Shadow Quad in For Your Eyes Only(found at target), has the best neutral shades and I love the iridescent white for the inside corner and bottom rim of my eyes! I also love doing a lighter eyeliner using the sparkly brown color!

Chanel Quadra Eye Shadow in Spices and Nymphea. They don’t make the Nymphea palette anymore but it has this amazing light green color which I love. Spices gives me this amazing warmth and yet somehow lightens my eyes as well. I love using the white iridescent in the corners of my eyes and the pink all over my lid with the gold in the crease and the dark brown as a messy eyeliner! Definitely worth the steep price tag I believe each palette is around $50.

Smashbox’s O-Gloss. This lipgloss is amazing it’s actually clear when you apply it, and then once it sets it enhances the natural color of your lips, so it looks different on everyone! On me it’s a brighter pink, but on one of my best friends with darker skin its almost a plum color!

Cliniques Chubby Stick’s are to die for. My favorite is Chunky Cherry it gives just a natural flush of red to my lips and it actually stays on for a while!

Chanel Powder Blush in Tempting Beige. Its my go to blush for fall it has an amazing warmth to it with just a hint of sparkle!

Sonia Kashuk Loose Mineral Blush in Angelica and Fairy (found at Target). They are my go to blushes for spring/summer.These blushes give me a light natural looking blush that glows a bit when the light hits it. Both shades are amazing although I do tend to wear Angelica a little more often because of its beautiful pinkish tone!

 

Beauty photos I use for Inspiration:

 

Leave a Reply

